My experiences with Airbnb & how it became my FIRST CHOICE

So, 8 months later and here I am back to bloggin’!
Trust me when I say I actually did want to update this space several times in the past,
But I got distracted and then lazy later on. End of story.

Crap aside… there has been a topic that I would like to talk about for quite some time right now. No, IT’S NOT THAT. I am not diagnosed with any terminal stage disease if you happen to think it’s a serious matter. It’s basically just about this awesome lodging website – www.airbnb.com.

airbnb_logo

Call me shallow or that I am living under the rock but I only discovered Airbnb back in 2013. That was when I was looking for a last minute accommodation in Hobart through www.stayz.com.au like I always do but it was out of my budget as it was only myself & Marcus for that trip. I got frustrated and I told him, we are going to end up sleeping in the street freezing our ass off until he suggested,


“why not try checking Airbnb out?”

Ever since,I started getting hooked up with booking my accommodation with Airbnb. I even developed a bad habit to check on the accommodations out first before I proceed to book my flight ticket to that destination. Either it’s just how things roll for me or that is how addictive Airbnb can be.

Up to date, I have stayed in 4 places in different countries through Airbnb booking and each and one of them never fails to impress me. Not only the hosts are friendly, informative and quick to respond to my enquiries; their apartment/house was exactly like how it was shown in the images. I am not too sure if it’s just my luck (touch wood) in getting decent accommodations but after staying at these places, I reckon it’s the quality of service that Airbnb has set for each host to ensure the guest’s well-being are taken care of in every aspect.

awesome-meme

Below are the apartments via Airbnb booking that I have stayed before that I would like to shout about! Oh and all the below apartments are for 3 person and below, just in case if you are wondering but fred not, the host that I have stayed with has other units in the same building as well. Thus, it wouldn’t be a problem if you are going with a family of 10 or more.

Note : This is not an advertorial and I don’t get paid to blog about it. I am doing this because I would like to share my good experience with decent accommodations because how can a holiday trip be complete without a good sleep/stay isn’t it?

Taipei, TAIWAN – Comfy Studio Apartment at Songshan District
[ click to view Airbnb page ]

We stayed at Prue’s studio apartment for 6 days at RM163/per night. No words could describe how comfortable and homely this place can be. I immediately fell in love with the interior and wished to live by my own just like this. I like how the apartment is divided into a living area & sleeping area.
This makes the whole studio looks spacious and for Taiwan’s standard,
this is quite a huge apartment I would say.

taiwan_apt (1)   The lounge area at each floor before entering your apartment

taiwan_apt (2)The living room area

taiwan_apt (4)The other side’s view of the living area

taiwan_apt (10)

 In addition, the apartment is strategically located 3 minutes (walk) from Raohe Night Market and I could easily find 7-11 like just around the corner. Though the apartment isn’t near any MRT station but the bus line is directly in front after exiting the apartment and trust me when I say, it brings you everywhere all the way to Ximending. Even for someone who isn’t that familiar in reading Chinese like me, I can assure you that taking the bus is easy because they have English announcement on board as well so what are the odds that you will miss your stop? Probably never.

taiwan_apt (6) Glass divider between the living room & sleeping area

taiwan_apt (7)

taiwan_apt (8) The bedroom area

taiwan_apt (9)The view that I wake up to in the morning

taiwan_apt (11)taiwan_apt (12) Panoramic view of the apartment


Melbourne, AUSTRALIA – Double room ensuite shower at Lygon Street
[ click to view Airbnb page ]

Usually when I make a trip back to Melbourne, I would stay at a friend’s place but this time around, I decided to have the whole place to myself. Initially I wanted to stay back at the neighbourhood that I previously lived in at North Melbourne but there were not much that was available.
So while I was browsing for similar accommodation,
this particular 2 bedroom apartment immediately caught my attention.

I stayed 7 days at Antonio’s apartment at RM140/per night. I like how the apartment was not too big, nor it was too small and would be just enough for a solo person like me to stay in because I really do like buying groceries and cook whenever I am back in Melbourne. Little things I do to reminisce those good old Uni days. LOL. Anyway, back to describing the apartment.
I was wrong when I thought it was not too big – it turns out to be rather huge.
Especially my room, it’s so spacious I can keep 10 huge luggages in that room I kid you not.

melb-apt (1)The living room area

melb-apt (3)

melb-apt (4)The kitchen area

The double bed was ultra-comfortable. I was so tired after catching a flight right after work that once I reached the apartment at about 10am, I dozed off until 4pm. Oh and I went during winter, so the electric blanket that they provide is sufficient enough to keep me warm & cozy.

Transportation wise? Fred not as by walking 2 minutes across the street and I am able to catch the tram 1 and 8 into the CBD. Downside is that they don’t provide toiletries but no fuss, you can bring your own. They do provide towels so that’s good enough for me.

melb-apt (5)Stairs up to the bedrooms

melb-apt (6)

melb-apt (9)


Seoul, SOUTH KOREA – Atelier White Studio Apartment at Sindang-dong 
[ click to view Airbnb page ]

This is my first time to Seoul so I’m very particular with my accommodation since I couldn’t converse in their language and if I were to be in an unfamiliar neighbourhood, it would be very difficult for us to get around. Again, I was browsing around Airbnb and then I came across this studio apartment. I couldn’t help myself but to feel that THIS IS THE ONE. People has been telling me that Hongdae or Itaewon will be a good area to stay in as its convenient and close to everywhere but this particular is in Sindang.
Lil’ sista and I decided to give it a go since we read the reviews and heard the location was good.
This is where we then spent a total of 9 days at Dorothy’s studio apartment at RM200/per night.

seoul-apt (1)The view of the apartment from outside

seoul-apt (4)

seoul-apt (3)Fully equipped with refrigerator, microwave and coffee machine

seoul-apt (6)Drawer full of cooking and dining utensils

seoul-apt (5)Cooking area & washing machine available

This studio apartment is very strategically located 2 minutes walk away from Sindang station that is in the same line as Dongdaemun, Ewha, Myeongdeong, etc. I love how I don’t need to change train line to do my shopping. You know how girls work when it comes to shopping with that bags & bags of goodness. Imagine that! LOL. There were convenient stores downstairs of the apartment as well as good local restaurants nearby that often, we eat just around the corner because they were yummy and affordable. Any local delicacies from Tteokbokki, Kimbap, Jjigae, Jajangmyeon..
you name it, you will be able to find it.

I just love the fact that Sindang is a neighbourhood that is close to the city. Like I am able to live among the locals and indulge on how their daily’s is like. I mean after all, that’s the experience that you would want to gain while traveling ain’t it?

seoul-apt (2)Two single beds/double bed

seoul-apt (8)

seoul-apt (9)The bathroom

seoul-apt (7)Olleh Skylife TV with every latest Korean drama & variety shows for you to watch 24 hours

I have blogged about the 4th Airbnb accommodation before here – Nature trippin’ to Hobart, Tasmania where we stayed 5 days in a townhouse at Moonah. In a nutshell, my overall experience with Airbnb has been awesome so far and if I had a choice; I would pick them over staying in a hotel. After all, the kind of price you pay for a budget hotel could actually get you a nice and cozy (maybe slightly smaller) studio apartment in Airbnb.

Because for me, clearly I rather spend that extra money splurging on shopping! ❤

xx

